AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

🔍 Read the full analysis: Inside A 36+ Hour Run With 10,000 AI Agents on ThorstenMeyerAI.com

Before you orderOffer from Amazon

Get the latest gadgets delivered free with Prime

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
  • Member-only deals all year
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

TL;DR

An OpenAI page headline says Third Moment Research ran 10,000 agents for more than 36 hours. The available information does not explain the task, coordination, costs or results, so the figures establish reported scale and duration—not performance or practical value.

An OpenAI page headline says Third Moment Research ran 10,000 AI agents for more than 36 hours, describing a large and sustained agent effort, as detailed in the original analysis. The available page information does not include the article body, however, leaving the agents’ task, operating setup and results unconfirmed.

The OpenAI page headline, titled “How Third Moment Research runs 10,000 agents for 36+ hours,” supplies two concrete details: a reported count of 10,000 agents and a runtime of 36 hours or longer. The headline does not explain how either figure was defined or measured. In particular, it does not establish whether all agents were active at the same time, or whether “agents” refers to separate software processes or another unit.

The available OpenAI page information does not say what work the agents performed, which models or software they used, how the system was coordinated, or what people did to supervise it. It also provides no reported output, evaluation criteria, error rate, computing requirements or cost. No direct quotation or named researcher statement is available in the page details provided.

Accordingly, the figures should be treated as a description reported in the OpenAI headline, not evidence of a particular accomplishment. A long run and a high agent count do not by themselves show that agents stayed active throughout, completed useful work, or performed reliably.

At a glance
reportWhen: Publication date not available; develop…
The developmentAn OpenAI page headline describes a Third Moment Research effort involving 10,000 agents running for more than 36 hours, but the article details are unavailable.
At a glance
reportWhen: Timing not specified; the reported run…
The developmentA report headline describes Third Moment Research running 10,000 agents for more than 36 hours, but supporting details are unavailable.

Scale Does Not Establish Performance

The scale reported in the OpenAI headline could matter to people tracking multi-agent AI systems, because operating thousands of agents over an extended period raises practical questions about coordination, monitoring and resource use. If the system handled a defined task and produced verifiable results, details of that deployment could help readers understand how such systems work beyond small demonstrations.

But scale alone is not a measure of usefulness. The available OpenAI page information gives no task description, success criteria, results or cost information, so readers cannot tell whether the run delivered value, how much human intervention it needed, or whether another approach would have been more effective. The information therefore supports interest in the reported size of the effort, but not a conclusion that it marks a technical or economic advance.

Amazon

AI agent software

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

What the OpenAI Headline Says

The available information identifies the development through an OpenAI page headline about Third Moment Research and a run lasting “36+ hours.” The page details provided do not include a publication date, technical explanation or timeline of related demonstrations. There is not enough information to place the effort against a prior baseline or compare it with other agent systems.

Those limits matter when interpreting both numbers. The headline does not specify whether “10,000 agents” means simultaneous activity, a total deployment, or another counting method. Likewise, “36+ hours” indicates a minimum duration as presented in the title, but the page details do not show whether work proceeded continuously or how runtime was calculated. Any account of architecture, benchmarks or organizational practices would go beyond the available information.

Amazon

multi-agent system tools

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Task and Results Remain Unknown

The main unanswered question is what the agents were asked to do. The OpenAI page information available here does not identify the task, the roles assigned to agents, how they communicated, or how the reported count was reached. It is also unclear whether all 10,000 agents ran simultaneously and what measurement supports the stated duration.

The page details include no reported outcomes or independent checks, and describe no evaluation method. Information about reliability, errors, human oversight and computing costs is also absent. Without those details, readers cannot assess whether the run completed its goal, what resources it required, or how its performance compares with other approaches.

Amazon

AI performance monitoring tools

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

A Technical Account Is Needed

The available OpenAI page information specifies no follow-up announcement or next milestone. To assess the effort, a fuller account would need to explain the task, define how agents were counted, describe coordination and oversight, and report results against clear evaluation criteria. Details on failure rates, runtime measurement and resource costs would also help establish the run’s practical implications.

Until such information is available, the facts reported in the headline remain limited to the 10,000-agent figure and 36-plus-hour duration. Whether the effort produced useful work, and what it demonstrates about sustained agent deployments, remains unresolved.

Amazon

cloud computing resources for AI

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

Key Questions

What did the OpenAI headline report?

The OpenAI headline describes Third Moment Research running 10,000 agents for more than 36 hours. The available page details do not explain the task or outcome.

What task did the agents perform?

The task is not identified in the available OpenAI page information.

Were all 10,000 agents running at once?

That is unclear. The OpenAI headline gives a count but does not say whether it refers to simultaneous agents or another way of counting the deployment.

What results did the run produce?

The available OpenAI page details include no results, evaluation criteria or independent checks, so the run’s performance cannot be assessed.

What would help readers assess the effort?

A fuller technical account could describe the task, agent coordination, oversight, measured outcomes, errors and resource costs.

Primary source: OpenAI · via ThorstenMeyerAI.com

HALLOWEEN

Halloween Picks

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

You May Also Like

Total Kills Over/Under 65.5 In Game 1?

A new betting market on Polymarket for Game 1 total kills over/under 65.5 has been listed, sparking increased betting interest amid ongoing speculation.

tModLoader Climbing The Steam Charts

tModLoader climbs to rank 7 on Steam’s most-played games list, reaching over 33,600 players, signaling increased interest amid ongoing popularity.

How SpaceXAI’s Grok Bot Is Revolutionizing AI Teamwork

SpaceXAI announced Grok Bot, a multi-agent AI system designed to coordinate tasks like research and coding, though details on release and performance remain unclear.

‘Multi-part Case Study On China’s Media’ Finds That AI Models Can’t Hallucinate Away Chinese Censorship – Fortune

A multi-part case study suggests AI models cannot reliably compensate for information suppressed by Chinese censorship, but full methodology remains unavailable.